Italian Dinner Party – Pt.1 Tuscan Stuffed Mushroom


Behold! The best mushroom caps ever made!

Behold! The best mushroom caps ever made!

I don’t know why I call these Tuscan mushroom caps. Probably because the smell and taste of olives and roasted red peppers brings to mind very old-world humble food, or maybe it’s the first name that came to mind. Either way they are delicious!  Don’t they look tasty? I thought so too… so much so that I made a double batch, cooked them early and ruined my dinner. Well that and half a loaf of pumpkin bread. That’s not necessarily a bad thing though because the main dish was homemade pasta and if you’ve ever tried to make pasta by hand you know it can be a bit of a pain in the butt. That’s all the hints on next week’s dish from me.

You will notice I suggest exposing the mushrooms to sunlight. This is because it turns them into little vitamin D2 bombs. Which if you’re a full time vegan you may have noticed it hard to find in food sources.  Also don’t throw away the mushroom stems or gills! They are great for tossing in stir fries, soups and of course gravy! Anyways it’s time for me to get back to my first of 4 consecutive 10 hour days. Wish me luck!

 
 
Ingredients

Don't they look yummy?

Don’t they look yummy?

10-12 Button Mushrooms (UV exposed for 20 mins)
1/3 cup olives 
1/3 cup roasted red peppers 
1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast 
1 tbsp Olive Oil 
Salt and Pepper to taste 
 
Preparation
Clean button mushrooms and place in sunlight for 20-30 mins. 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Remove stems and gills. Place on a parchment lined baking sheet. 
Finely chop olives and roasted red peppers. Combine olives, red peppers, nutritional yeast olive oil and add a touch of salt and pepper to taste. 
Distribute the olive mixture into the mushrooms. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes. 
I love hearing from you, so please let me know what you think.

