Pumpkin Crazy!


For those of you here in Canada Happy Thanksgiving! It seems like forever since I’ve been posting. I seriously underestimated how insanely busy a cigar store can be in the summer. Now that the rainy season is starting to hit I finally have some days off to cook.

This weekend I made two of my favourite fall foods: pumpkin pancakes and pumpkin bread. I got so pumpkin crazy I added some leftover pure into my vanilla chai smoothie. The pumpkin bread is not an original recipe but it’s delicious and can be found at Hell Yeah it’s Vegan: Vegan Pumpkin Bread. Here’s how mine turned out.

This doesn't seem to do it justice!

This doesn’t seem to do it justice!

Now for my Pancakes! I love making these on Sunday mornings because  the house smells great for hours and I feel a little spoiled. Not to mention I’m always proud I got my veggies in during breakfast.  By using flax and safflower oil you are also giving yourself a nice balance of your omega 3’s & 6’s.  When it comes to family breakfasts I never mention these are vegan I just say their my Heart Healthy Pancakes!

This recipe is usually only enough for 2 because you will eat them until your body tells you you HAVE to stop.

Just missing the syrup on top!

Just missing the syrup on top!

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tbsp of ground flax 
3 tbsp of water 
1 tbsp safflower oil (olive oil works well) 
1 cup coconut milk (or non dairy milk of choice)
1/2 cup pure pumpkin
 
Preparation:
Combine flax and water in a separate bowl and let stand while preparing dry ingredients. 
Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg together in a medium bowl. Add flax mixture, oil, milk and pumpkin to the dry ingredients. 
 
For each pancake, scoop 1/4 cup of batter on to a hot griddle or nonstick skillet. Turn pancakes when bubbles appear and edges are cooked, after about 2 minutes. Cook for 1 1/2 minutes on second side.
I love hearing from you, so please let me know what you think.

